INEC Announces Osun Result, Declares Oyetola Of APC Winner

Winner of Osun governorship election, Gboyega Oyetola

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate for the All Progressives Congress (APC), Gboyega Oyetola, the winner of governorship election in Osun State.

The Returning Officer for the election, Joseph Afuwape, made the declaration oon Saturday night.

Oyetola had polled 254,345 votes in the Saturday’s election while Senator Ademola Adeleke of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) polled 254,699 votes.

However, the election was declared inconclusive and supplementary scheduled for Thursday, September 27 in 7 polling units.

The rerun which was marred by several electoral malpractices saw APC polling 1160 votes while PDP polled 325 votes.

Read Also: PDP Heads To Court Over INEC’s Declaration Of Osun Polls As Inconclusive

Meanwhile, the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, has disassociated the party from the results declared by INEC.

The party’s Chairman, Uche Secondus, said after reviewing what transpired from the “distribution of materials to actual voting in some units, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party found out that Osun is under size.”

The party also condemn the arrest and detention of two of her leaders Alhaji Diekola and Dr. Muyiwa Oladimeji.

Related Posts